Chinese Overseas Studies: Databases

Alexander Street allows users to cross-search three video collections published by Alexader Street Press: Counseling & Therapy in Video, Opera in Video, and Theatre in Video.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Essays on general anthropology, communal relations, ethnic groups, folk medicine, immigrant communities, old age, physical anthropology, population, race relations, social change, social conditions, social customs, social problems, social structure, women, youth & children.

A wealth of historical reference materials, thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of many countries.

Collections include: Annual reports of the Straits Settlements, 1855-1941; China political reports, 1911-1960; China political reports, 1961-1970; Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941; Japan political & economic reports, 1906-1970; Korea political & economic reports, 1882-1970; Shanghai : political and economic reports, 1842-1943; and Taiwan political and economic reports, 1861-1960.

Coverage: 1756 -1912
Includes manuscripts, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps that document the trading and cultural exchanges between China, America and the Pacific between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Coverage: 1800s-1980s
China and the Modern World is a series of primary and archival materials sourced from the Second Historical Archives of China, British Library and other important collections of the world. It covers historical contact of China and the West including missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals (1817-1949), Records of the maritime customs service of China (1854-1949), Diplomacy and political secrets (1869-1950), Hong Kong, Britain and China (1841-1951), and Imperial China and the West (1815-1881, 1865-1905).

Coverage: 1906-1931
Published by the Chinese Students' Alliance in the United States of America from 1906 to 1931, this magazine discussed the politico-economic affairs and socio-cultural movements in China.

Coverage: 1599-1947
This database is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library. It contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Coverage: 2005 - Present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of science, social science, arts and humanities from over 5,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.

A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1850-1947
Messenger 1850-1947 使信月刊 documented the foreign missions of the Presbyterian Church in South China, Taiwan and Chinese communities in Singapore and Malaysia. It has changed title several times, i.e. The English Presbyterian Church (1845-1867), Messenger and Missionary Record of the Presbyterian Church in England (1868-1878), Outlook (1881-1884), Presbyterian (1884-1885), Presbyterian Messenger (1885-1891), Presbyterian (1891-1906), Monthly Messenger of the Presbyterian Church in England (1906-1907), and Presbyter Messenger (1908-1947).

The collection includes documentaries that are already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. The titles in Filmakers Library Online present points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Population movements news collected by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) between 1941 and 1996 with emphasis on the migrants sourced from Palestine, Tibet, Hungary, Vietnam and Cuba.

Includes archives of several hundred well-known academic journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, dating back to their first issues. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Coverage: 1800 - 1924
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material.

Coverage: 1479-2003
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.

Coverage: 1930 - 1960
Sourced from British Foreign Office Files at the UK National Archives, British Library, National Archives and Records Administration (US) and World Jewish Relief. It archives the refugees across Asia, Europe and North America from 1933 to 1960. Researchers can locate Jewish from China, immigration of Jewish to Hong Kong, transfer of Jewish refugees from Austria to Germany, and subjects of a rich variety.

Coverage: 1907-1910
Contains reports by the U.S. Immigration Commission on the large waves of immigration to America in the early 20th century and the effects on their country with details of immigrant nationalities included.

The Roper Center collects public opinion data on a wide range of topics, e.g., immigration, leisure and recreation, race, religion, work and labor, poverty, elections and many more. Currently it offers nearly 700,000 questions and answers from US national adult sample polls, and the archive holds over 23,000 US and international datasets. Data can be downloaded or analyzed using their online tool RoperExplorer.

Coverage: 1855-2000
Includes the Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph newspapers published in London from 1855 to 2000. This historical archive is an important source to study British society and its colonies in Asia from the nineteenth to twentieth century.

Coverage: 1424-1867
琉球自明朝永樂年間至清朝同治年間與中國，以及與琉球(今沖繩地區)周邊的東南亞和西亞國家的外交古文書。由於琉球和中國進貢冊封的關係，四百多年間留下許多中國歷代皇帝的諭旨詔書，直至1868年日本明治政府成立，歷代寶案移由中央內務省管理。

Coverage: 1850-1951
The British founded press agency in Shanghai, North-China Daily News & Herald published Chinese and English newspapers since 1850. The database covers its The North-China Herald《北華捷報》, The North-China Daily News《字林西報》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新報》, Hu Bao《滬報》, Han Bao《漢報》, Xiao Xian Bao《消閒報》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西報行名錄》.