Skip to Main Content

EndNote X9 - a bibliographical management and documentation tool: Creating bibliographies and in-text citations in MS Word documents

EndNote toolbar

After installing EndNote Desktop, the EndNote X9 tab will show in Microsoft Word tool bar. By using the Cite While You Write (CMYW) function, EndNote allows you to insert citations into your word documents any time during your writing process.

 

Inserting references in MS Word

Method 1 – Find and Insert citations in Word

  1. Open your document, place the cursor where you want the citation to appear;
  2. Click “Insert Citation”;
  3. The "Find & Insert My References" window will prompt, enter keywords to find your desired citation from your desktop libraries or shared groups;
  4. Select the citation (hold down the Control Key for multiple selection), click “Insert” to add your selection to the document;
  5. The citation will appear in the text and be generated in the reference list.

 

Method 2 - Insert citations from your EndNote library

  1. Open your document, place the cursor where you want the citation to appear;
  2. Click the “Go to EndNote” button on the EndNote X9 Tool Bar in Word, it will take you to EndNote and open your library;
  3. Select your desired citation from the EndNote library;
  4. Click “Insert Citation”;
  5. The citation will appear in the text and be generated in the reference list.

 

Edit/ Remove Citation

  1. Select the desired citation to edit;
  2. Click “Edit & Manage Citation(s)” on the EndNote X9 Tool Bar in Word to change the format of your citation;
  3. To remove a citation, click “ Remove Citation” under “Edit Reference”.

Bibliography

The bibliography will be added automatically to the end of the MS Word document when you insert references in the content.

However, if you would like to change the look and feel of the bibliography, you can follow the steps below:

  1. From the EndNote Tool Bar, click the small arrow in the bottom right corner of the Bibliography group;
  2. The “Format Bibliography” tab allows you to change the output style, edit the link between in-text citation and reference list;
  3. The “Layout” tab provides more options on formatting.

Video Demonstration

EndNote X9 on Windows: The Short Course https://youtu.be/8KTDSl9OGgE

  • Insert Citation (14:25-16:30)
  • Edit/ Remove Citation (18:53-20:57)
  • Format Bibliography (16:32-18:50)