Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Western History & Civilization: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought by William Outhwaite (Editor)
Call Number: H41 .B53 2003
UL Reference
Access via Blackwell Reference Online
Access via Wiley Online Library
The Book of the Pharaohs by Pascal Vernus; Jean Yoyotte; David Lorton (Translator)
Call Number: DT58 .V4713 2003
UL Reference
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world. Classical tradition by Hubert Cancik; Helmuth Schneider; Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar
Call Number: DE5 .N35213 2006
UL Reference
Calendar of Persian correspondence : being letters, referring mainly to affairs in Bengal, which passed between some of the Company's servants and Indian rulers and notables by Muzaffar Alam; Sanjay Subrahmanyam
Call Number: DS463 .I49 2013
UL Reference
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by Graham Shipley; Lin Foxhall; David Mattingly; John Vanderspoel
Call Number: DE5 .C28 2006
UL Reference
Catherine the Great : a reference guide to her life and works by Kamenskiĭ, A. (Aleksandr)
Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks
Celtic culture : a historical encyclopedia by John T. Koch (Editor)
Call Number: CB206 .C45 2006
UL Reference
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Europe, 1789-1914 by Stefan Berger (Editor)
Access via Blackwell Reference Online
Access via Ebrary
Access via Wiley Online Library
The Concise New Makers of Modern Culture by Justin Wintle
Access via Taylor and Francis ebooks
Conflict and Conquest in the Islamic World : a historical encyclopedia by Alexander Mikaberidze (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Crusades : an encyclopedia by Alan V. Murray (Editor)
Call Number: D155 .C78 2006
UL Reference
Cultural sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa : an encyclopedia by Andrea L. Stanton (Editor); Peter J. Seybolt (Editor); Edward Ramsamy (Editor); Carolyn M Elliott (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access via SAGE Knowledge
Der neue Pauly by herausgegeben von Hubert Cancik und Helmuth Schneider (Antike), Manfred Landfester (Rezeptions- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte).
Access via Brill Online
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by Robert M. Irwin; Monica Szurmuk
Access via Ebrary
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by Christopher Corèdon; Ann Williams
Call Number: DA129 .C67 2004
UL Reference
Access via MyiLibrary
The Early Medieval World : from the fall of Rome to the time of Charlemagne by Michael Frassetto
Access via Ebrary
The encyclopedia of Greek comedy by Sommerstein, Alan H.
Access via Wiley Online Library Online Books
Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of British Isles, C. 450-1450 by Gale Owen-Crocker (Volume Editor); Elizabeth Coatsworth (Volume Editor); Maria Hayward (Volume Editor)
Access via Brill's medieval reference library
Encyclopaedism from antiquity to the Renaissance by König, Jason; Woolf, Greg
ISBN: 1107461448
Access via Ebook Central Academic Complete International Edition
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece by Nigel Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: DF16 .E52 2006
UL Reference
The encyclopedia of ancient history by Roger S. Bagnall ... [et al.]
Access via Wiley Online Library
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by Alex Hughes (Editor); Keith Reader (Editor)
Access via Ebrary
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)
Call Number: DP233.5 .E63 1999
UL Reference
Access via Ebrary
Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought by Christopher John Murray (Editor)
Call Number: DC33.7 .E55 2004
UL Reference
Access via Taylor and Francis ebooks
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Thought by Gregory Claeys (Editor)
Call Number: CB415 .E53 2005
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World by Thomas J. Sienkewicz (Editor); Thomas H. Watkins (Editorial Board Member); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Salem Press Staff; Lawrence Allan Conrad (Editorial Board Member); Geoffrey W. Conrad (Editorial Board Member); David A. Crain (Editorial Board Member); Christopher Ehret (Editorial Board Member); Robert D. Haak (Editorial Board Member); Katherine Anne Harper (Editorial Board Member); Chenyang Li (Editorial Board Member)
Call Number: CB311 .E54 2002
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Jewish diaspora : origins, experiences, and culture by M. Avrum Ehrlich (Editor)
Call Number: DS115 .E47 2009
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Medieval World by Edward D. English
Call Number: D114 .E55 2005
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation by Thomas Goddard Bergin; Jennifer Speake
Call Number: CB359 .B47 2004
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Roman Army by Yann le Bohec (Editor)
Call Number: U35 .E53 2015
UL Reference
Encyclopedia of the Sixties : a decade of culture and counterculture by Abbe A. Debolt (Editor); James S. Baugess (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Encyclopedia of War by Gordon Martel (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world by Jonathan Dewald
Call Number: D209 .E97 2004
UL Reference
Europe 1789 to 1914 : encyclopedia of the age of industry and empire by John Merriman (Editor); Jay Winter (Editor)
Call Number: D299 .E735 2006
UL Reference
Europe since 1914 : encyclopedia of the age of war and reconstruction by John Merriman and Jay Winter, editors in chief
Call Number: D424 .E94 2006
UL Reference
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Events that formed the modern world : from the European Renaissance through the War on Terror by Inc ABC-CLIO Inc. Staff; John E. Findling (Editor); Frank W. Thackeray (Editor)
Access via Ebrary
Historical Dictionaries of Cyprus by Farid Mirbagheri
Access via Ebrary
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Egypt by M. L. Bierbrier
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel by Niels Peter Lemche
Call Number: DS102.8 .L38 2004
UL Reference
Historical dictionary of medieval Christian Nubia by Lobban, Richard Andrew, Jr.
Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks
Historical Dictionary of the British Monarchy by Kenneth J. Panton
Access via MyiLibrary
Access via Ebrary
Historical Dictionary of the Contemporary United Kingdom by Kenneth J. Panton; Keith A. Cowlard; James Panton
Call Number: DA34 .P357 2008
UL Reference
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World : Britain, Ireland, Europe and America by John A. Wagner
Call Number: DA357 .W34 2002
UL Reference
Historical dictionary of the Holocaust by Fischel, Jack
Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks
Historical Dictionary of the Renaissance by Charles Garfield Nauert
Call Number: CB361 .N35 2004
UL
Medieval Islamic Civilization : an encyclopedia by Josef W. Meri (Editor)
Call Number: DS36.85 .M434 2006
UL Reference
Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia by Christopher Kleinhenz (Editor)
Call Number: DG443 .M43 2004
UL Reference
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine : an encyclopedia by Thomas F. Glick; Steven John Livesey; Steven J. Livesey (Editor); Faith Wallis (Editor); Thomas Glick (Editor)
Call Number: Q124.97 .M43 2005
UL Reference
Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990 by Dieter K. Buse (Editor); Juergen C. Doerr (Editor); Thomas Spira (Editor)
Call Number: DD14 .M64 1998
UL Reference
Napoléon Bonaparte : a reference guide to his life and works by Meeks, Joshua
Access via EBSCOhost Ebooks
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012
UL Reference
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by M. C. Howatson
Access via Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by John Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O92 2007
UL Reference
Access via Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O95 2010
UL Reference
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America by David Carrasco (Editor)
Call Number: F1218.6 .O95 2001
UL Reference
Access via Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy, science, and technology in Islam by Ibrahim Kalin, editor in chief
Call Number: Q127.I742 O94 2014
UL Reference
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World : 1750 to the present by Peter N. Stearns
Access via Oxford Reference Online
The Palgrave encyclopedia of world economic history since 1750 by Graham Bannock; R. E. Baxter
Call Number: HC15 .B355 2010
UL Reference
The Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization by Elisheva Carlebach; James E. Young; Deborah Dash Moore
Call Number: DS117 .P64 2012
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History : an encyclopedia by Steven L. Danver (Editor)
Call Number: HN57 .R48 2011
UL Reference
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest : popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975. by Adam Matthew Digital
Access via Adam Matthew Digital
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Gale Editor (Editor)
Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Star struck : an encyclopedia of celebrity culture by Sam Riley (Editor)
Call Number: E169.12 .S73 2010
UL Reference
The Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789 by Nicholas Atkin; Michael Biddiss; Frank Tallett
Access via Wiley Online Library
The Wiley Blackwell encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England by Michael Lapidge; John Blair; Simon Keynes; Donald Scragg
Access via Wiley Online Library
Access via Ebrary
World History Encyclopedia by Alfred J. Andrea (Editor); Carolyn Neel (Editor); Kevin McGeough (Editor); William E. Mierse (Editor); Wilfred J. Bisson (Editor); Mark Aldenderfer (Editor); Dane A. Morrison (Editor); James H. Overfield (Editor); H. Micheal Tarver (Editor); Andrew Jackson Waskey (Editor)
Access via MyiLibrary
World Monarchies and Dynasties by John Middleton
Call Number: D21 .W929 2005
UL Reference
アジア・太平洋戦争辞典 by 吉田裕
Call Number: D767 .A353 2015
UL Reference

Need Help?

Make an appointment
for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)
Phone us at 3943 7305
Send an email to library@cuhk.edu.hk
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898; 9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Zoom-with-a-Librarian 2-5pm (Mon-Fri)