Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UK Law: General References: Encyclopedia & Dictionary

Citing References

Faculty of Law Legal Citation Style Guide

Encyclopedia & Dictionary

A Dictionary of Law (9th ed) by Jonathan Law (Editor)
Call Number: KD313 .C66 2018
UL Law Reference
(Another title: Oxford Dictionary of Law)

Online version through: Oxford Reference Online

Jowitt's Dictionary of English Law (4th ed) by Greenberg, Daniel and Jowitt, William Allen Jowitt
Call Number: KD313 .J68 2015
UL Law Reference
Words and Phrases Legally Defined (5th ed)
Call Number: KD313 .W67 2018
UL Law Reference

Online version through: Lexis Advance® Hong Kong

World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by Igor I. Kavass (editor); Mary M. Prince (editor)
Call Number: K89 .K38
UL Law Reference
The New Oxford Companion to Law by Peter Cane; Joanne Conaghan
Call Number: K48 .W34 2008
UL Law Reference, Legal Resources Centre

Online version through: Oxford Reference Online

Stroud's Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases (10th ed) by Greenberg, Daniel
Call Number: KD313 .S77 2020
UL Law Reference
Atkin's Encyclopaedia of Court Forms in Civil Proceedings, 2nd ed.
(also known as Atkin's Court Forms)
Online version through: Lexis Advance® Hong Kong
The Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, 5th ed.
Online version through: Lexis Advance® Hong Kong
Halsbury's Laws of England, 5th ed.
Online version through: Lexis Advance® Hong Kong
Murdoch's Dictionary of Irish Law: A Sourcebook (4th ed) by Murdoch, Henry J. P.
Call Number: KDK84 .M87 2004
UL Law Reference
Glossary of Legal Terms (6th ed) by O'Rourke, Stephen R.
Call Number: KDC152 .O76 2014
UL Law
Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations (4th ed) by Raistrick, Donald
Call Number: K89 .R35 2013
UL Law Reference, Legal Resources Centre
Longman Dictionary of Law (8th ed) by Richards, Paul and Curzon, L. B.
Call Number: KD313 .C87 2011
UL Law Reference, Legal Resources Centre
Glossary: Scottish and European Union Legal and Latin Phrases (2nd ed) by Styles, Scott Crichton et al
Call Number: KDC152 .G58 2003
UL Law Reference

Need Help?

Make an appointment
for the Research Consultation Service (for postgraduate students and CUHK faculty members)
Phone us at:

● Lee Quo Wei Law Library: 3943 8641
● Legal Resources Centre: 3943 0927

Send an email to:
Lee Quo Wei Law Library
law@lib.cuhk.edu.hk
Legal Resources Centre
lrc@lib.cuhk.edu.hk
WhatsApp us at 5578 8898;
9am - 5pm (Mon-Fri)
Zoom-with-a-Librarian
2-5pm (Mon-Fri)

Last Update

25 Feb 2022 (Version 16)