Southeast Asian Studies: Southeast Asia

This is a free internet resource on Architecture. It provides over 136,000 peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Contains over 4,000 journal and magazine titles across all subject disciplines.

Developed by American Council of Learned Societies, this database comprises e-books chiefly on area and historical studies and other subjects in the humanities.

The collection comprises literature written originally in English by writers who either were born in or identify themselves culturally with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Because the South and Southeast Asian Diasporas are so widely cast, the collection also includes the work of writers living or working in Africa, the United Kingdom, North America, and the Caribbean. The collection will focus upon literature written during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, but it will also include earlier work that is essential to scholarship in this area.

Coverage: 1256-1993
Archives Unbound based mostly in the United States include topically-focused collections in the politics, military affairs, foreign relations, trade, European missionaries, and other social activities of the countries in Asia-Pacific region from the 19th to the late 20th centuries. There contain many detailed documents on modern Chinese political history and Sino-American relations.

Includes interdisciplinary studies in arts and humanities. It covers the subjects of art, design, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, architecture, history, philosophy, geography, modern languages, literature, cultural studies, and music.

Provides government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Essays on general anthropology, communal relations, ethnic groups, folk medicine, immigrant communities, old age, physical anthropology, population, race relations, social change, social conditions, social customs, social problems, social structure, women, youth & children.

A wealth of historical reference materials, thousands of original documents of the National Archives (UK) represented in facsimile, including numerous maps, on the national heritage and political development of many countries.

Collections include: Annual reports of the Straits Settlements, 1855-1941; China political reports, 1911-1960; China political reports, 1961-1970; Hong Kong annual administration reports, 1841-1941; Japan political & economic reports, 1906-1970; Korea political & economic reports, 1882-1970; Shanghai : political and economic reports, 1842-1943; and Taiwan political and economic reports, 1861-1960.

The digitization of public domain works from the East, Southeast and Central Asia of the Berlin State Library is an important step towards a comprehensive electronic service structure for science. It serves to make it accessible worldwide without license and barrier-free and to make it more researchable through a structural indexing (partly up to chapter level). In addition, it also provides protection for the originals as they are used less frequently.

Coverage: 1599-1947
This database is a collection of India Office Records from the British Library. It contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Coverage: 1997 - present
Includes the full-text of CUHK doctoral dissertations since 1997.

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures/traditions, and ethnic groups for cross-cultural and archaeological studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Yale University. Its information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups for cross-cultural studies. It can be searched by culture and country/region or subject/word.

Provides full-text access to reports published by the Economist Intelligence Unit, covering a wide range of business information. Titles include Country Forecast, China Premium Country, China hand, CountryData, Market Indicators and Forecasts, and Global Forecasting Service.

Coverage: 2005 - Present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of science, social science, arts and humanities from over 5,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles and supports cited reference search.

A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies.

A business news information service provides access to nearly 6,500 newspapers, magazines, wire services, and academic and trade journals. It also includes profiles of public companies covering financial data.

This FBI file, which covers the period 1970 to 1993, began as an investigation into the Committee of Liaison with Families of Servicemen Detained in North Vietnam (COLIFAM). Included here are interviews with hundreds of Vietnamese refugees as well as information on how the North Vietnamese hoarded personal items of American servicemen to exchange for money. Information on the Women's Liberation Movement, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF), and the Women's Peace Party is also contained here. Documents include teletypes, interviews, letters, memos, newsletters, and reports. The file is organized chronologically within two divisions: Domestic Security and Foreign Counterintelligence. Scholars interested in Vietnam-related government policy and domestic unrest will find this a useful collection.

Coverage: 1919 - 1952
British Foreign Office files contains archives of Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945, Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952, and Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930. It is an important source to study Japan's foreign relations with China, Russia, and Southeast Asian and Western countries in the first half of the twentieth century.

Coverage: 1963-1980
This collection is published in two parts: Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations and the Post-Independence Period, 1963-1966 and Foundations of Economic Growth and Industrialisation, 1967-1980. It documented the socio-political situation and economic development of Southeast Asia from 1963 to 1980, particulary the conflict between Malaysia and Indonesia in this period.

Provides a range of visual, manuscript and printed materials to help scholars to explore the history of the trade of commodities including: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, wine and spirits.

Coverage: 1970 - present
The World Bank's GDF Online offers external debt and financial flow data for the 135 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System.

EIU's Global Forecasting Service offers projections of key indicators and analysis of the issues that influence the economic performance of both developed and emerging markets, spelling out their implications for business and the workd economy over the next five years.

This collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.

The Textbook platform offers textbooks covers many subjects across Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine and Nursing, the Humanities, and the Social Sciences.

Guide to international maritime boundaries including expert analysis and agreements.

Coverage: 1957 - 1995
Contains socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical and military materials from around the world, with emphasis on the issues and events of socialist countries in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Includes archives of several hundred well-known academic journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, dating back to their first issues. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Sourced from the British Library, American Antiquarian Society, and the Bryn Mawr College Library, this collection contains an array of historic atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives and a variety of maps into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel.

Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.

Coverage: 1479-2003
Includes 3 archives: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Women: Transnational Networks. It is an important primary source to study the world history from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.

Coverage: 1972 - present
Contains index and abstracts to 500,000+ political science related journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.

Provide access to 29 professional journals on political science covering American Government, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, and more.

Provides access to 400 humanities and social sciences journals.

Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Provides information on companies, economies, markets, business conditions and international trade in Asia & Europe.

Comprises global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals. Comprising all contents from: ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection, Asian and European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection, and Entrepreneurship Database.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Coverage: 1930 - 1960
Sourced from British Foreign Office Files at the UK National Archives, British Library, National Archives and Records Administration (US) and World Jewish Relief. It archives the refugees across Asia, Europe and North America from 1933 to 1960. Researchers can locate Jewish from China, immigration of Jewish to Hong Kong, transfer of Jewish refugees from Austria to Germany, and subjects of a rich variety.

Coverage: 1953 - present
Includes 36 journals on Contemporary, Comparative, and Classical Sociology, Consumer Culture, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Labour Studies.

Coverage: 1993 - Current
Electronic version of the print newspaper.

A statistics and market data platform, providing access to over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources covering roughly 170 different industry sectors.

Coverage: 1995 - present
Abstracts and indexes to the journals and books on education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, sex and gender role socialization, social policy, social psychology, cutlure, media, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

This historical newspaper database archives Times of London from 1785 to 2010. It is an important primary source to study British society and its colonies in North America and Asia from the eighteenth to twentieth century.

Included case law, legislation and journals from a number of Asian jurisdictions as well as UK content.
Please note: Access to Westlaw Classic is available from Westlaw Asia home page.