Humanities: CUHK Resources Highlights

In 2008, the Chinese University of Hong Kong Library received its largest donation of Chinese ancient books from the Bei Shan Tang Foundation. The collection consists of 1,383 titles of Chinese ancient books in 9,886 volumes, among them, 52 titles are rare books. The editions are comprehensive, including woodblock printing, multi-colour printing, manuscripts, handwritten copies, and movable type printing. Notable in the collection contains Xinbian Shiwen Leiju Hanmo Quanshu (新編事文類聚翰墨全書), Guwen Yuan (古文苑) and Zongxuan Xiansheng Wenji (宗玄先生文集) of the Ming Dynasty, and Yueling Jiyao (月令輯要) and Yihai Jianwen (乙亥見聞) of the Qing Dynasty.

網上古籍資料庫提供全文檢索甲骨文、竹簡帛書、金文。自商周、先秦兩漢至魏晉南北朝的文獻和註解。
CHinese ANcient Texts (CHANT) provides access to fulltext Chinese inscriptions on oracle bones, bronzes, bamboos, wooden tablets, and manuscripts from 1766 B.C. to 589 A.D., with interpretation scripts.

The project on "Chinese women and Hong Kong Christianity: An Oral History" took place between 2007 and 2009. It had conducted in-depth interviews with 22 Chinese Christian women of age above 65 and recorded their respective life stories. These women came from different church denominations and class backgrounds, and each has gone through very different life experiences with regard to family, marriage, career and religious life. It is easy for readers to acquire a sketch of early Hong Kong history through the various details provided by the life stories. This archive collects all the materials generated from the oral history project including the recording tapes of 22 interviewers, transcripts and pictures provided by them.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library maintains a precious collection of more than twenty Daoist texts of the Qing Dynasty. Originated from the Daoist abbeys in Luofu Mount in Guangdong, some of the textures arrived in Hong Kong from Daoist temples in Guangdong and nearby areas probably after the Republican period. The collectors donated the scriptures to Chung Chi College Elisabeth Luce Moore Library in the 50s of the last century.
This collection of Qing Daoist texts will contribute to the study of history of Daoism in the Qing Dynasty. Daoist scholars rarely examine the history of Qing Daoism mainly due to the deficiency of primary sources. Some researchers even mistakenly conclude that the period from Qing to the Republic is the time of declination of Daoism. As it is known, although each of the major empire compiled the Daoist Canon, there is no such project from the Qing dynasty to the 20th century after the publication of Daoist Scriptures of the Great Ming (Da Ming Daozang Jing) under the reign of Ming Yingzong and the Scriptures in Supplement to the Daoist Canon of The Great Ming (Da Ming Xu Daozang Jing) in the 35th Wanli year of the late Ming.

中國現代戲劇圖書是香港中文大學圖書館獨具特色的重要藏品。
這批書籍的主體部分原為香港報人胡振（筆名古岡）先生的珍藏，包含現代戲劇劇本、外國戲劇譯本、現代戲劇評論、以及戲劇理論書籍一千二百五十冊。一九六零年代，戲劇名家姚克先生（字莘農）擔任聯合書院中文系系主任，試圖推動新文學的教學與研究。因此，他居間聯絡，協助聯合書院圖書館館長陸華深先生購買這批書籍，並特地於《聯合校刊》撰文介紹圖書的入藏經過及其學術價值。為方便學者利用，聯合書院圖書館於一九六七年編成《中國現代戲劇圖書目錄》，隨後又陸續購置現代戲劇圖書三百三十九冊，於一九七零年編成《中國現代戲劇圖書館目錄續編》。
二零零一年，中文系何杏楓教授、語文自學中心中文部主任張秉權博士共同完成《「中國現代戲劇特藏」抗戰前中國現代劇本提要及評論》研究計劃。兩位學者與大學圖書館合作建立「中國現代戲劇資料庫」，是將這批圖書數位化的首次嘗試。
二零一八年，為紀念姚克先生對中國戲劇和香港劇壇所作的貢獻，中文系崔文東教授、文化與宗教研究系張歷君教授、陳曉婷女士協助大學圖書館舉辦「坐忘．香港：姚克的戲劇因緣」展覽。在策展過程中，我們重新發現了中國現代戲劇圖書的學術價值。
因此，大學圖書館與崔文東教授、張歷君教授、陳曉婷女士再次合作，推出全文圖像「中國現代戲劇館藏」，已掃描並上載超過一千七百餘冊書籍。與此同時，我們得到何杏楓教授、張秉權博士慷慨授權，將中國現代劇本提要及評論嵌入圖書介紹中。
經由幾代中大人的努力，「中國現代戲劇館藏」最終建立。讀者藉助電子平臺，即可瀏覽田漢、洪深、宋春舫、姚克、熊式一等現代劇作家作品的初版本。我們衷心希望這批藏品能夠引發更多學者的研究興趣，促進中國現代戲劇以及香港戲劇的研究。

Cantonese Opera is a traditional Chinese art form with a long history originating in Guangdong region. With its outstanding achievements in costumes, music, singing, and acting styles, it is popular in Guangdong, Hong Kong, Macau and among the Chinese community in East Asia. In Hong Kong, many renowned artists and opera troupes emerged from 1930s to 1950s, including Sit Kok Sin’s Kok Sin Sing Opera Troupe, Yam Kim Fai and Pak Suet Sin’s Sing Fung Ming Opera Troupe, and Fong Yim Fun’s Sun Yim Yeung Opera Troupe. In the past years, CUHK Library has received many treasures of Cantonese Opera through generous donations. The collection includes libretti, postbills, opera stills, photos, and many artifacts. Postbill is commonly called xiqiao (戲橋), a standard promotional material of opera troupes listing the cast and the main plays on stage. It provides a vivid picture of the vibrancy of Cantonese Opera in the early to mid-20th century. The postbill collection consists of two parts: the first part is the opera performance of Sit Kok Sin and the second part is mainly by Yam Kim Fai and Pak Suet Sin.

Contains over 13,000 correspondences of Sheng XuanHuai (1844-1966), a Chinese tycoon, politician, and educator in the late Qing dynasty. The archive reveals all matters – financial, political, familial, and societal – that were of concern to the late Qing and early Republican period.

提供人名和地名檢索湖南省長沙市出土的三國時期吳簡.是有助於研究當時的戶籍,田契和社會控制的文獻.。

涵蓋: 1999
源自中國湖北省荊門市古墓的出土文物.可全文檢索《郭店處墓竹簡》第一卷.文字編.。

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library (CUHK Library) collects about 1,100 titles of Chinese rare books and over 6,000 titles of Chinese semi-rare books. Since this collection is one of the major collections of its kind in Hong Kong, CUHK Library has started to digitize selected titles from the Yuan Dynasty onwards in 2006 to build up this Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection, in order to facilitate online access of its full- text and to promote resource-sharing. To extend our support to learning and global research, the Collection is also the first open access digital collection of the CUHK Library and has been harvested into several well-known OA repositories such as OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories), Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR), OCLC WorldCat OAIster, Open Archives Initiative, and BASE. The Collection now covers more than 6,200 volumes of rare books with around a million of full-text images and the number is still growing.

涵蓋: 1980至今
提供論文索引，引用的期刊超過三百種在香港出版的中文和雙語期刊。
Coverage: 1980 - present
Provides index to 300 Chinese and bilingual periodical titles published in Hong Kong.

涵蓋: 1930s -
提供香港文學資料索引及/或全文影像。資料來自報章文藝專欄、期刊及書籍。
Coverage: 1930s -
Provides index and/or full-text images to books and articles in journals and newspaper literary columns on Hong Kong literature.

The CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection (the ETD Collection) holds the full-text of research degree’s theses and doctoral dissertations submitted by postgraduate students of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) since 1967. It comprises more than 13,000 volumes in both English and Chinese. Searchable PDFs for the body text, abstracts and table of contents in both English and Chinese are provided. Alternatively, doctoral dissertations from 1997 onwards are also accessible via Dissertations & Theses @ CUHK.