Southeast Asian Studies: Vietnam

A comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. It features 14 collections and offers over 250,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 5,000 full-text plays and film scripts.

Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Includes archival materials on Korean War and Vietnam War. It is a primary source to study the Korean and Vietnamese military and civilian leaders and the U.S. strategies in Vietnam.

Coverage: 1256-1993
Archives Unbound based mostly in the United States include topically-focused collections in the politics, military affairs, foreign relations, trade, European missionaries, and other social activities of the countries in Asia-Pacific region from the 19th to the late 20th centuries. There contain many detailed documents on modern Chinese political history and Sino-American relations.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Essays on general anthropology, communal relations, ethnic groups, folk medicine, immigrant communities, old age, physical anthropology, population, race relations, social change, social conditions, social customs, social problems, social structure, women, youth & children.

Coverage: 1995 - current
This dictionary compiles the results of the ongoing research in East Asian pre-modern texts from Zhou dynasty materials to nineteenth-century writings. It contains pronunciations and meanings from the Sinitic cultural sphere including China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam.

Coverage: 1945 - 1991
Communist Bloc and developing world news collected by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). FBIS Daily Reports contain key issues, events and people of socialist countries in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Population movements news collected by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) between 1941 and 1996 with emphasis on the migrants sourced from Palestine, Tibet, Hungary, Vietnam and Cuba.

Guide to international maritime boundaries including expert analysis and agreements.

Coverage: 1957 - 1995
Contains socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, technical and military materials from around the world, with emphasis on the issues and events of socialist countries in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Includes archives of several hundred well-known academic journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, dating back to their first issues. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Coverage: 1959 - 1996
Archives the official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Pravda. It is a primary source to study the Soviet's thoughts and perspectives towards other communist countries and world events during the Cold War and its following years from 1959 to 1996.

Coverage: 1923 - present
Allows users access to nearly all the ProQuest periodical databases and provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of disciplines including business and economics, environmental studies, geography, public administration, social science, political sciences, and more.

Coverage: 1910s-1980s
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) Saigon was organized and was activated on 28 January 1973. DAO Saigon was a unique organization. It performed the traditional functions of a defense attaché, managed American military affairs in Vietnam after the cease-fire, including the programs for the support of the Republic of Vietnam's Armed Forces (RVNAF), and furnished housekeeping support to Americans remaining in Vietnam after the ceasefire. Aside from the support of the RVNAF, it reported on operational matters and produced intelligence information on which subsequent decisions concerning the Military Assistance Program and American interests in Southeast Asia could be based. The DAO was evacuated from South Vietnam during the fall of Saigon on April 29, 1975. This collection comprises the DAO's Historian's Office files, including the official DAO History and the background files used in its compilation. The background files consist of serial reports, program memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.