Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote 20 - a bibliographical management and documentation tool: Adding References

Importing Citations into EndNote Library

Before inserting citations and references into your Word document, you need to add references into your EndNote library.

Adding References

To export an item from LibrarySearch to EndNote Library:   To export a list of items from LibrarySearch to EndNote Library:

On the search results list, click on the entry you would like to export.

  1. On the individual record page, click on the "Export RIS" button () under the "Send to" section.
  2. Click on "DOWNLOAD".
  3. Double-click the downloaded file.

 

  

On the search results list:

  1. Select the checkboxes beside the entries you would like to export.
  2. Click the "pin" icon () to add the selected items to My Favorites.
  3. At the top right corner, press the "pin" icon () to "Go to my favorite".
  4. Choose the entries you need by selecting the checkboxes beside those entries.
  5. Click on the "push to actions" button () and select the "Export RIS" button ().
  6. Double-click the downloaded file.

If you cannot import the file into the library, please go to your EndNote Desktop, click on "File" > "Import" > "File", choose the file you have just downloaded and choose "Reference Manager (RIS)" from Import Option and press the "Import" button.

Most academic databases support exporting references to EndNote:

  1. Select the citations you want to save with an "Add" button or checkbox.
  2. Look for a "Save", "Save to", "Export", "Export to" link (usually located on the search results page).
  3. Choose "Export to EndNote" or "Export to a bibliographic management tool" or a similar option.
  4. Double-click the file to import it into your library.

If you cannot import the file into the library, please go to your EndNote Desktop, click on "File" > "Import" > "File", choose the file you have just downloaded and choose "Reference Manager (RIS)" from Import Option and press the "Import" button to start importing.

 

Click to see steps to import references from:

Step 1 / 3

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save.

Step 2 / 3

Click on "Export" on the top of search results.

Step 3 / 3

Choose "RIS Format" > "Export" to export references that you have selected.

Step 1 / 3

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save.

Step 2 / 3

Click on "Export" > "EndNote Desktop"

Step 3 / 3

Click on "Export" to export references that you have selected.

Step 1 / 3

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save.

Step 2 / 3

Click on "Send to" > "Citation manager"

Step 3 / 3

Click on "Create file" to export the references that you have selected

Step 1 / 3

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save.

Step 2 / 3

Click on "Export"

Step 3 / 3

Click on "Citation", then select "RIS" > "Export"

Step 1 / 3

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save.

Step 2 / 3

Click on "Export".

Step 3 / 3

Click on "Export citation to RIS" to export references that you have selected.

Step 1 / 4

Click on the folder icon  to select citations you want to save.

Note: The icon will change to  if you have selected the citation.

Step 2 / 4

The selected citation(s) will be saved in the "Folder" at the top right-hand corner. Click on the Folder icon.

Step 3 / 4

Click on the checkboxes to select citations you want to save. Then click on "Export".

Step 4 / 4

Choose "Direct Export in RIS Format" > "Save" to export references that you have selected.

 

For databases WITHOUT an "Export to EndNote" link, you may try the following steps:

  1. Save the results in a text file.
  2. In the EndNote library, select "File" menu, choose "Import".
  3. Choose the text file that contains your saved results.
  4. In the Import Options menu, select "Other Filters".
  5. Select the filter that corresponds to the originating database.
  6. Click the "Import" button.

EndNote provides an easy way to add reference(s) by importing the PDF directly:

  • This method only works for PDF with DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
  • For PDFs do not have a DOI, you will need to:
  1. download the EndNote RIS file via LibrarySearch/ online databases, or
  2. manually type in reference details (title, author, year, etc.).

 

 

To import a PDF file to EndNote library:

  1. In the EndNote library, go to "File" and choose "Import".
  2. Select on "File" when importing a PDF file.
  3. Click on the "Choose" button and choose the PDF in your computer.
  4. In Import Option, select "PDF".
  5. In Duplicates, choose one the following options:
  • Import All: All references, including duplicates, are imported
  • Discard Duplicates: No duplicates are imported
  • Import into Duplicates Library: Duplicate references are imported into a library called [your library name]Dupl.enl
  1. In Text Translation, choose "No Translation".
  2. Click on "Import".

 

To enter references by hand:

  1. In the EndNote interface, select References > New Reference from the top command bar.
  2. Select the appropriate Reference Type, such as "Journal Article", from the drop-down menu.

Note: different Reference Type determines which fields will be shown in the input form.

 

Tips:

  • Remember to enter multiple author names in separate lines
  • Key in author names either last name first with a comma ("Smith, Jane") or first name first ("Jane Smith")
  • When entering a corporate or institutional author name like "The Chinese University of Hong Kong" or "Hospital Authority", enter a comma after the name. This will prevent EndNote from inverting or abbreviating the institutional name
  • When typing in the title field of an entry, DO NOT use the "Enter" key to indicate a line break. EndNote, by default, will wrap the text automatically
  • All new records will be added in the All References group. You can put them into any group you want. They can also be placed into multiple groups