THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Senate

Fourth Meeting (2017-18)

The fourth meeting in the 2017-18 academic year of the Senate was held on 6 June 2018. The following major items were dealt with (not including businesses regarded as in the reserved area) at that meeting.

The following programmes were phased out, on the recommendation of the Executive Committee of the Graduate Council or the Board of the Faculty of Business Administration, and would no longer be offered with effective dates shown:

	Programme	With effect from
1	self-financed Master of Arts Programme in Theological Studies	2018-19
2	self-financed Postgraduate Diploma Programme in Communication	2020-21
	Disorders and Sciences	
3	Minor Programme in Accounting	2018-19
4	Minor Programme in Business Analytics	2018-19
5	Minor Programme in Business Economics	2018-19
6	Minor Programme in Finance	2018-19
7	Minor Programme in Hospitality and Real Estate	2018-19
8	Minor Programme in Human Resource Management	2018-19
9	Minor Programme in Integrated BBA	2018-19
10	Minor Programme in Management	2018-19
11	Minor Programme in Management of International Business	2018-19
12	Minor Programme in Marketing	2018-19
13	Minor Programme in Quantitative Marketing	2018-19

The following programmes would be introduced, as recommended by the Board of the Faculty of Business Administration or the Senate Committee on Sub-degree, Professional and Continuing Education Programmes, with effective dates shown:

	Programme	With effect from
1	Minor Programme in Business	2018-19
2	Certificate Programme in Chinese Mounting of Painting and Calligraphy	March 2019
3	Certificate Programme in Training of Rehabilitation Assistants and	November 2018
	Trainers	
4	Certificate in Entrepreneurship for SME (Senior Secondary Applied	September 2018
	Learning)	
5	Professional Certificate Programme in Health System Leadership	July 2018
6	Professional Certificate Programme in Promoting Well-being in Informal	August 2018
	Caregivers of Dementia	

The introduction of a Work Study Programme with effect from 2018-19 for students of the Bachelor of Engineering Programme in Energy and Environmental Engineering admitted to the University in 2016-17 and thereafter was approved.

The study scheme and exemptions from Major requirements of the Bachelor of Engineering Programme in Financial Technology for senior-year entrants with effect from 2019-20 were noted.

The technical amendments to the *Regulations Governing Undergraduate Medicine Programme* with effect from 2018-19 and applicable to students admitted to the six-year curriculum in 2013-14 and thereafter were noted.

The recommendation of the Board of the Faculty of Science to revise the qualifications recognized by the Faculty for exemptions for admission against FYFD quota with advanced standing with effect from 2018-19 was approved.

The recommendations of the Committee on Re-approval of Sub-degree Programmes for 17 self-financed sub-degree programmes were approved.

The recommendations of the Committee on Re-approval of Self-financed Taught Postgraduate Programmes for 19 self-financed taught postgraduate programmes were approved.

The establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong – Xi'an Jiaotong University Joint Research Centre on Migration was endorsed for approval by the Council.

The 2016-17 annual reports from the following committees, supplemented by the verbal reports of their respective Chairmen, were received:

- Senate Committee on Language Enhancement
- Senate Committee on Student Discipline
- Undergraduate Examinations Board

The proposed major changes to the penalty guidelines of the University's *Procedures for Handling Cases of Academic Dishonesty* for implementation with effect from 2018-19 were approved.

The proposed changes to the Policy on Assessment of Student Learning in Taught Programmes for implementation in 2018-19 were approved.

A vote of thanks was recorded to the following Senate members who were retiring from their present post or leaving the University:

- (i) Professor Jack C.Y. Cheng, Professor of Orthopaedics and Traumatology and Choh-Ming Li Professor of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
- (ii) Professor Professor Helen F.K. Chiu, Professor of Psychiatry
- (iii) Professor Tony Chung, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
- (iv) Professor Leung Kwong Sak, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

A vote of thanks to Professor Henry N.C. Wong who had stepped down from the position of Dean of the Faculty of Science and Professor of Chemistry, and to Professor Wong Ching Ping and Professor Samuel S.M. Sun, who would step down from the position of Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and founding College Master of S.H. Ho College respectively was recorded for their significant contributions to the University. Professor Wong would continue to be a Senate member in his capacity as Head of New Asia College.